Eveleigh Chief Mechanical Engineers Office

30 June 2016

Strengthening arts, heritage and culture: bringing the area’s unique heritage to life in beautifully restored older buildings that will attract visitors to an exciting, revitalised heart for each neighbourhood.

The Eveleigh Chief Mechanical Engineers Office (CME) office on Wilson Street, North Eveleigh forms part of the heritage listed Eveleigh Railway Workshops and we are taking an important step to preserve this building for future community uses. We’ve started external restoration works including repair of the balcony and water proofing. We don’t know the potential long term use of the building yet, this will be decided after further assessments, community engagement and studies under the Central to Eveleigh Urban Transformation and Transport Program. The building, due to its significance, also has its own listing on the State Heritage Register.

Built in 1887 and extended c.1900, the building is part of the heritage listed Eveleigh Railway Workshops that includes Carriageworks and the Australian Technology Park. It was the office of various Chief Mechanical Engineers and their staff, who supervised the design and manufacture of locomotives, carriages and wagons. With steam engines no longer in use from 1963 meant that Eveleigh, which was dedicated to steam locomotive maintenance and repair, entered its final phase and closed In 1988. 

Carfax Commercial Constructions Pty Ltd, an award winning construction company with significant heritage experience, will undertake external restoration works to the building. Carfax will commence construction in July 2016. More details regarding Carfax can be found at www.carfax.com.au

Delve deeper into the history of Eveleigh through stories, archives, photo galleries and video at the Eveleigh Stories web site. 

Back to news